I warned you. But you didn't listen πŸ˜’

πŸ˜’

I'm the 4th child of 5 children. From the beginning of our lives, my mum has been the only one taking care of all of us.

I grew up with little knowledge of who my father was.

He never stays home. Infact, he hates it at home.

He'd go to work, and not come back for months.

Every bill, no matter how huge or little it was, was on my mum.

School fees, house rent, light bills, water, food, everything.

I mean our father was nowhere to be found, so how can we possibly ask him for money? 🀷

Anyway.. there's this one incident that happened when I was 16. I was working in a supermarket at the time.

On my way to work one day, I saw something I like (I can't exactly remember what it was, I think it was a cloth though).

I really liked it. I asked the seller how much it was, and they told me 2,000 naira.

I didn't have any money then and my mum didn't either.

So I called my beloved father and asked him for 2,000 naira.

Guess what he said?

"I'm driving, I will call you back".

I was happy. At least, I was going to buy that thing, or so I thought.

Minutes later, he didn't call me back, so I went back to work. We didn't work with our phones then (you have to submit it at the security post).

Slowly, my happiness began to fade and disappointment replaced it.

Hours later (closed from work at this time) I called him again, and he yelled at me.

"I told you I'm driving, why do you keep disturbing me?" And he hung up.

Driving? To where? The Maldives? From Nigeria? πŸ˜‚

A part of me expected something like that to happen, but a bigger part said to give him the benefit of doubt.

I shouldn't have.

The first time in my life ever asking him something, and he didn't come through not because he couldn't, but he didn't want to.

Few days ago, a friend was on the phone with his dad, his dad was giving him fatherly advice, telling him to not get distracted, stay focused and write his final exams..

Listening to the conversation, I zoned out. And I thought about my own father.

If I call this man, he's probably gonna ask who's on the line.

My father is just that. My Father. Nothing else.

But here's something… I don't burden myself with the fact that he ain't doing what he's supposed to do as a father.

Instead, I took full responsibility for myself.

I could resent him for the rest of my life for not being a father to myself and siblings.

But I didn't. That is the mentality I want you to cultivate.

No one owes you shit. Not even your parents. If they decide to support you, appreciate them.

But if not, be ready to toss your emotions to the side and work your ass off for your stuff. That is the only way to win in life.

By the way.. I warned you but you didn't listen.

I warned you about my vulnerable sides. I told you I was gonna be as vulnerable and open as possible, but you didn't listen.

You didn't unsubscribe. Which is why you are reading this email now.

If you had listened and unsubscribed, you would have been free from my mess.

This is the outcome of your stubbornness. 😁😁

Lol. I'm joking. I'm joking.

Chill out.

Anyways, that's it for today's email, I'll see you tomorrow.

I'm not telling you what to expect in tomorrow's email, cos it's a surprise.

But it's going to be lit 😁

That said, bye for now 😊

Your queen.. Happiness.