I almost ruined a friend's happy day

I have always had bad anger. I completely go mute when I am angry, ask me what the problem is till tomorrow, and I won’t say a word.

I don’t like to speak when I’m mad because I don’t want to say harsh things and have to apologize later even though you wronged me initially.

Does that even make sense? I hope it does.

So what I do is shut you out completely.

People told me several times to stop but I didn't. I didn’t even believe that I had bad anger until recently…

I got mad at a friend and ignored him the whole day. The next day was his signout in school.

His mum and siblings were going to come for the event. Like every African mum, she wasn’t coming alone. She was coming with food and other family members.

We agreed not to eat anything at home, and go eat everything in school. I made him tell his mum to prepare rice, and she did.

But guess what?

Because I was angry at him, I didn’t eat anything.

I was so mad at him that I didn’t share in his joy.

Later that day, after the whole party was over, he gave me a long speech on how I have bad anger and why I shouldn’t let my anger get the best of me all the time.

And then I took a minute to think about what he said.

All these people can’t be wrong and I’m right, there has to be something I am not doing right.

And I came to understand that he was right.

I needed to work on my anger. So I took the first step which was apologizing for almost ruining his happy day, and I prayed.

I prayed because I didn’t have the strength to do it on my own.

Then I called my older brother. I stopped calling him for a while because I was mad at him.

The message of this Email is…

LET THINGS GO.

Forgive, stop overthinking the little mistakes people make, and hold it against them. No one is perfect, not even you.

When he was speaking to me, he told me something that cut through my soul…

“If you don't work on your anger, and you get married, you will wake up one day to find your husband laying dead beside you, and you killed him”

If you continue to act smart around people, holding their little shortcomings against them, you will lose everyone who loves you and you love.

Again I say… LET THINGS GO.

That’s it for today’s email.

PS: I started reading Joseph Sugarman’s Adweek, and I have been mind-blown since. Get ready to receive marketing and copy lessons from the book.

That said, I’ll see you in subsequent emails.

Your queen… Happiness.